Calls for Papers and Proposals

2019 Innovation and Service Awards - Call for Nominations

ACM SIGKDD invites your nominations for its 2019 Innovation and Service Awards.

ACM SIGKDD, ACM’s Special Interest Group on Knowledge Discovery and Data Mining (KDD), is the premier global professional organization for researchers and professionals dedicated to the advancement of the science and practice of knowledge discovery and data mining. It established the Innovation and Service Awards to recognize outstanding technical and service contributions to the KDD field.

Nominations due Friday May 10, 2019

ACM SIGKDD Innovation Award

Innovation Award recognizes one individual or one group of collaborators whose outstanding technical innovations in the field of Knowledge Discovery and Data Mining have had a lasting impact in advancing the theory and practice of the field. The contributions must have significantly influenced the direction of research and development of the field or transferred to practice in significant and innovative ways and/or enabled the development of commercial systems.

The previous SIGKDD Innovation Award winners were Rakesh Agrawal, Jerome Friedman, Heikki Mannila, Jiawei Han, Leo Breiman, Ramakrishnan Srikant, Usama M. Fayyad, Raghu Ramakrishnan, Padhraic Smyth, Christos Faloutsos, J. Ross Quinlan, Vipin Kumar, Jon Kleinberg, Pedro Domingos, Hans-Peter Kriegel, Philip Yu, Jian Pei, and Bing Liu.

ACM SIGKDD Service Award

Service Award recognizes one individual or one group for their outstanding professional services contributions to the field of knowledge discovery and data mining. Services recognized include significant contributions to the activities of professional KDD societies and conferences, educating students, researchers and practitioners, funding R&D activities, professional volunteer services in disseminating technical information to the field, and contributions to society at large through applications of KDD concepts to improve global medical care, education, disaster/crisis management, environment, etc.

The previous SIGKDD Service Award winners were Gregory Piatetsky-Shapiro, Ramasamy Uthurusamy, Usama M. Fayyad, Xindong Wu, the Weka team led by Ian Witten and Eibe Frank, Won Kim, Robert Grossman, Sunita Sarawagi, Osmar R. Zaiane, R. Bharat Rao, Ying Li, Gabor Melli, Ted Senator, Jian Pei, Wei Wang, Qiang Yang, and Jie Tang.

Nomination Process

Nominations should include a 1-2 page summary statement justifying the nomination along with other supporting materials. Each nomination should be co-sponsored by at least 3 people. At most one award will be given each year in each category. Nominations submitted in the previous two years are automatically considered in 2019 unless notified otherwise. At the same time, updates to previous valid nominations are encouraged.

Please submit all new or updated nomination and support documents by May 10, 2019 (Friday) 11:59 pm EST to kdd.nomination19 at gmail dot com, with subject line “2019 SIGKDD Award Nomination”.

The 2019 awards will be presented at the 24th ACM KDD Conference in Anchorage, Alaska, August 4 - 8, 2019, Any inquiry can be directed to Jie Tang, Chair of the 2019 SIGKDD Awards Committee: jietang at

Award Committee Members:

  • Christos Faloutsos
  • Jiawei Han
  • Vipin Kumar
  • Hans-Peter Kriegel
  • Jian Pei
  • Jie Tang (Chair)
  • Wei Wang
  • Philip Yu

How can we assist you?

We'll be updating the website as information becomes available. If you have a question that requires immediate attention, please feel free to contact us. Thank you!

Please enter the word you see in the image below: