SIGKDD Welcomes The Newly Elected Executive Committee Chair and Members

The ACM SIGKDD elections were recently concluded. The new SIGKDD leadership team took office on July 1, 2017. 

The newly elected chair of ACM SIGKDD is Prof. Jian Pei, Canada Research Chair at Simon Fraser University and a Technical VP of Huawei Technologies, Co., Ltd. Prof. Jian Pei is an ACM and IEEE fellow, and his contributions to Data Science are well recognized with over 200 publications and 70K+ citations. Numerous industries have been transformed by these publications and results; and he continues to lead the movement towards creating an innovation driven field that is diverse, inclusive, and transformational. The SIGKDD community is honored to have him serve as chair leading the community on its next chapter.

“As I am working on both academia and industry, I am committed to foster even better interaction and collaboration between academia and industry, and promote data science to students and a community of more diversity."

During the recently concluded election, SIGKDD members also elected the SIGKDD executive committee (EC):

  • Deepak Agarwal, LinkedIn;
  • Johannes Gehrke, Microsoft;
  • Jure Leskovec, Stanford University and Pinterest; (new)
  • Claudia Perlich, DStillery; (new)
  • Geoffrey I. Webb, Monash University; (new)
  • Mohammed J. Zaki, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute.

Dr. Michael Zeller of Software AG will continue as secretary-treasurer of the organization bringing continuity and financial growth and stability to the team. We thank him for his service to the community in this important role.

Dr. Ankur Teredesai of University of Washington Tacoma and KenSci, will continue as the information officer of the organization providing operational leadership to the organization. We thank him for his continued service.

Over the past four years KDD conferences witnessed massive growth in interest and diversity of tracks. The SIGKDD community would like to express its sincere gratitude to Prof. Bing Liu, for his service as Chair for the past four years. Prof. Liu led the SIGKDD community forward towards becoming the premier community for both academic and industry data mining professionals and ensured we continue to grow.

SIGKDD is grateful for the volunteer contributions of past SIGKDD EC officers whose term recently ended (2013 – 2017): Dr. Raghu Ramakrishnan, Dr. Ying Li. Their guidance and leadership has resulted in establishing SIGKDD and its annual KDD conference as the flagship venue for data science research.

Being a volunteer run organization, SIGKDD relies heavily on member contributions. These roles are significantly challenging and strategic. The mission of the EC is to advance the impact of data science in today's world by driving key initiatives that lead to such measurable impact. The EC is responsible for day to day governance of the parent organization of the popular conference, establishment of new initiatives to support students and curriculum, nomination and recognition of leadership through SIGKDD awards and appointment of conference chairs to name a few. The EC also serves to oversee formation and growth of SIGKDD local chapters and various global initiatives in data science. It acts as the liaison between governing bodies of various related fields of AI and Machine Learning by sharing and spreading our joint message of innovation and social impact through advancement of science.

We congratulate and wish the new team all the very best and look forward to new transformational initiatives during this term. 

Upcoming KDD 2017 conference, August 13-17, 2013, in Halifax is a great opportunity to meet the new EC. We hope you will join us there!

Copyrights © 2018 All Rights Reserved - SIGKDD
ACM Code of Conduct